A little more about me..

I am conscious of the fact that I have never really introduced myself – neither on my instagram (@justthreelittleloves) or on this blog. So this is me, Ali, a thirty something fitness fanatic and fashion follower. I was born and raised in North Down, Northern Ireland about 15 minutes east of Belfast and despite spending some time in England – Newcastle upon Tyne, studying, I made the decision to come home when I met my Mr.  Fifteen years on, three kids (aged 6,4 and 10months) later this is a decision I have never regretted. Together we live in a beautiful village in Co Antrim, Northern Ireland, nestled on the lough shore.

I have a legal background but “fell into”, as so many people do, a career in Public Relations and I love it. I completed a Master in Communication Advertising and Public Relations in 2007 and went on to work for one of the biggest agencies in the world Weber Shandwick – while there I had the opportunity to travel to Uganda as part of a corporate social responsibility project – a trip I will never forget. On leaving Weber Shandwick I again “fell into” arts PR and have worked for some of the world premier International arts festivals including Belfast International Arts Festival, Belfast Mela and the Beckett International Arts Festival and for some of NI’s leading arts venues including the Lyric and the Theatre at the Mill. During my career I have had the privilege to work with celebrities from Monty Python’s Michael Palin and Line of Duty’s Adrian Dunbar, to some of the most respected and talented Arts Programme Directors Sean Doran and Graeme Farrow and not least with some of NI’s most talented marketers and dynamic PR agencies.

About two years ago I made the decision to take a career break. My husband works in sales and travels a lot and as my boys got older, they got more demanding and ultimately slept less – my window to get work done shortened and stress levels increased and I felt I wasn’t doing anything right anymore neither being a mum nor being a PR / Press Officer. Something had to give and so I chose to give up work for the time being and I am lucky enough to be able to have that choice.

In April 2017, we welcomed our third (and final) little pink love into the world. She is the apple of her brothers eye and is honestly the best baby – I think its because her brothers occupy her attention so much. I don’t know about any other mums reading this – but I feel mine have gone, hardest, easier, easiest in terms of the babies. I think this way round is preferable!!!

So I have been a mum of one – knackered, stressed, unsure to what to do, googling every single thing, to a mum of two, being knackered, stressed, goggling the odd thing to being a mum of three still knackered, still stressed but no longer able to find time to sit at a computer never mind remember how to spell Google in the first place and in recent months, as the boys get older I have added mediator, referre, chef and taxi driver to my resume. My hands may be full but my heart is even fuller!

I am a fitness fanatic – I love playing tennis, I started when I was 4years old and have played at County level. I now play Division one with a local team. I enjoy going to the gym – I have just started squats and tots with my baby E and have recently taken up bouldering – my husband figured if he and the kids were going to have me climbing the walls constantly I may as well learn how to do it properly.

I’m a fashion follower – I love seeing the newest trends but I don’t always follow them. I never have – I prefer to wear clothes that I know suit me and I feel comfortable in opposed to buying something because it is “in”. For example the wide cropped trousers that are “in”. Bought them and they are going straight back – doesnt mean I don’t love how they look on others but they just don’t work on me! I don’t know if it comes down to age, experience or tightening of the purse strings with three kids to worry about but I prefer putting money into wardrobe staples and pieces that will stand the test of time – its quality over quantity for me, plus lets face it most of my life is spent running after my three little loves. I love a good pump and a good handbag. I think I have something like 20 pairs of pumps – Pretty Ballerina, Julie Dunn and Tods would be my favourites and I am partial to a good Zara pump – great quality for the price!

So why am I doing this blog and what will it be about? I started this blog in October 2017 – sharing information about myself in such a public platform is not something I ever thought I would feel comfortable doing and I still don’t honestly know if it is or if I’ll be any good at it but I decided to give it a go because somewhere between having my first and third baby-I feel like I have lost a piece of myself – having children means you don’t get to be selfish, to do anything for you anymore that’s a give-in but having said all that a healthy mum is a healthy family so I decided find time to sit at that computer, made my brian remeber how to spell Google and start this blog as a way of writing again – that was always one of my favourite parts of working in PR (that and media liaison and events…ok I loved it all!)  The career break was the best decision we as a family ever made ever made but I miss being involved – I miss telling the who, the what, the where and the why. That’s what I want to do through this blog-to look at fashion, at events, at arts and culture, at things to do with kids, at beauty products and hopefully you’ll buy into it, get to know me and enjoy the stories I have to tell.

Leave a comment